Vietnam Veterans Recognition Dinner

On Thursday, March 29, 2018, the Sons of the Sherburne American Legion Post #876 along with the Auxiliary Unit #876 held a dinner and ceremony to honor local Vietnam War veterans and present them with certificates of recognition.

The Vietnam War Veterans Recognition Act of 2017 was signed into law by President Trump designating March 29 of each year as National Vietnam War Veterans Day. Throughout this Commemoration of the 50th Anniversary of the Vietnam War, and every March 29 thereafter, we will honor all those who answered our Nation’s call to duty. We vow to never again confuse personal disapproval of war with prejudice against those who honorably wear the uniform of our Armed Forces. With conviction, our Nation pledges our enduring respect, our continuing care, and our everlasting commitment to all Vietnam veterans.

The evening began with a cocktail hour and once everyone arrived, Rick Hodge (Sons of the American Legion Commander) led the Pledge of Allegiance followed by Angela Jones’ (Auxiliary President) introduction the head table. Barb Pierce (Auxiliary 2nd Vice) then led an emotional POW/MIA service and prayer. Dinner and cake was then served and enjoyed by all.
After dinner, Mayor William Acee gave a proclamation and the recognition ceremony proceeded. Rick Hodge and Angela Jones had the honor of presenting the certificates of recognition to each veteran and personally thanking them for their service. A total of 44 veterans were recognized at the evening’s event.

Awards presented to the following 44 individuals:
• Daniel Andrews
• Robert D. Baker
• Robert Baker
• Robert Benton
• John Carpenter
• Gerry Clark
• David Deblock
• Lynn Doing
• Thomas Donnison
• Stephen Dunshee
• Robert Fetzko
• Charles Giordano
• Bert Gorczyca
• Joseph Harlost
• Frederick Hilsinger
• Gerald Horton
• William Irwin Jr
• Orville Jones
• John Karoll
• Thomas King
• William LaCoe
• Richard Lamoreaux
• Richard Lollman
• Robert MacWethy
• Allen Marsters
• Richard Merhib
• Charles Miller
• Edward Newman
• John Nixon
• David Palmiter
• Ronald Palmer
• John Powell
• Joseph Ray
• John Scheuerman
• Carl Sherwood
• Seth Strait
• William Smith
• James Taylor
• Brian Tehan
• Robert Thomsen
• Bruce Whitney
• John “Jack” Williams
• Teresa Winton
• Richard Winton